Is Japan Cool? Samurai Avatar

As you may have guessed by now I am a fan of all things Japanese, be that the food, culture or video games. Thus when I came across this brilliant website allowing you to create your own samurai avatar I leapt at the chance, after all, who wouldn’t want to see themselves adorning the eponymous warrior’s garb?

Samurai Avatar Face

As is common with this kind of customisation, the first step is to upload a glorious photo of your face. Of course I could have gone for something more ferocious looking. Instead I opted for the placid ‘passport photo’ image, hardly threatening right? Oh well. Scaling and rotating to fit, I proceeded swiftly to step two, all the while enjoying the tranquil backing notes echoing out my speakers.

Samurai Avatar Armour

The range of armour options available is impressive. There are seven pieces to customise, each offering eight palettes and numerous styles. I decided to go for a black and gold theme with white accents. Providing a fair level of detail, the website requires a fair level of processing power to operate at a satisfactory level. Even my Mac started to struggle after a while in the dojo. Additionally who knew the Pokemon Kabuto was named after the samurai headpiece? Well they say you learn something new every day…

Samurai Avatar Background

The final customisation option is to choose your background. With twelve styles and the same number of palettes, there is great room to experiment. I tried initially for a more elaborate, vibrant background but settled for this more subtle, muted result to place greater focus on my avatar. Take your fancy!

Samurai Avatar Name

To conclude you can give your samurai a name and set it’s country of origin. You are then granted the ability to share your creation on social media or (how cool is this?) download the model files for 3D printing. Now unfortunately I don’t own a 3D printer but just picture a little samurai-you staring at you from across the living room while you eat your sushi…

Jump into the action and put your own face on a samurai here!

What do you think?