Spotify Wrapped 2022

Another year, another Wrapped. Once again Spotify demonstrate that they’ve been listening as we’ve been listening, to reveal everything we want to know (and perhaps don’t – those guilty pleasures!) about our 2022 year of music.

The first thing to note this year is that my sister hijacked my account rather than creating one of her own. Whilst listening to much the same, our mutual playlist contained considerably more pop-oriented tracks and thus it only came as some surprise that ‘Pop’ jumps to the genre top spot. Interestingly as a carry on from last year (and still none the wiser to what it is), ‘Metropopolis’ retains a top-five placing.

Rising year-on-year to 18,500 total minutes listened, Taylor Swift regains pole position as my top artist after dropping to second in 2021. With this in mind, it came as a shock that her first song in my ‘Top Songs 2022’ placed way down in 37th, with ‘The Hills’ by The Faim taking numero uno this year, played 34 times.

A new addition this year, Spotify has aimed to classify our listening mood at different times of the day. Quite how they’ve done this I’m unsure, but I rather like the sound of ‘Sombre Hardcore Vampire’ in the morning! The graphics and animation in this section particularly stands out with a vibrant yet limited palette, subtle rising motion to represent passing time, whilst retaining the astrological, somewhat pschedelic vibe that is running through this year’s Wrapped. And obviously the backing music is incredible, ahem…

Calculating my listening style, apparently I fit the ‘Fanclubber’ persona, listening to entire albums by an artist even if I don’t like all the songs. I mean, that is partly accurate but I think in the most part just because I use the free version so only get six skips an hour.

Besides the typical Wrapped and ‘Top Songs’ playlist, this year Spotify have added two new sections. The first comprises a series of video messages from your favourite artists, both sweet and cringeworthy in equal measure, and the second a selection of tunes you may like based on your listening habits – definitely worthwhile.

If you haven’t already been bombarded on socials, be sure to check out your own Wrapped for a fun insight into your yearly listening habits. Who knows, maybe next year I’ll breach the 20,0000-minute mark.

1 thought on “Spotify Wrapped 2022

  1. Pingback: 2022 Nintendo Switch Year in Review | Brandon King Design

What do you think?